In Florida, a CDD (Community Development District) is a local, special purpose government authorized as an alternative method for planning, financing, acquiring, operating and maintaining infrastructure in a planned community. CDDs are intended to help solve Florida's need for quality community infrastructure that addresses the demands of a growing population, without overburdening other area governments and tax-payers. CDDs can establish higher construction standards and provide a long term solution to the operation and maintenance of a community's facilities. CDDs are governed by Florida Statute chapter 190.

A CDD is a separate entity from a Homeowners Association and as such, serves a different purpose in creating community standards and regulations. As with all Florida CDDs, the Cory Lakes CDD has an officially elected, five-member Board of Supervisors who establish the policies of the District in accordance with Florida law. The Board hires a District Management Company and a District Counsel who implement the Board's policies and contracts, using the same formalities as do a County Administrator and County Attorney.

The Cory Lakes CDD's responsibilities also include creating and managing an annual operating budget, managing any necessary assessments, maintaining community infrastructure such as overseeing road improvements, street lighting, public property management, gatehouse/security staff, storm-water management, and waterway maintenance. All of these services take money to maintain; money that comes from CDD fees.


Board of Supervisors

Board Vacancy Notice

Chairperson

  • Jorge Castillo
  • jcastillo@corylakescdd.net
  • SEAT 3
  •  

Vice Chairperson

  • Sudhir "Sid" Shah
  • sshah@corylakescdd.net
  • SEAT 5
  •  

Assistant Secretary

  • David J Burman
  • dburman@corylakescdd.net
  • SEAT 1
  •  

Assistant Secretary

  • Sheila Haque
  • shaque@corylakescdd.net
  • SEAT 4
  •  

Assistant Secretary

  • Bob Woodards
  • bwoodards@corylakescdd.net
  • SEAT 2
  •  

Staff

District Manager

  • Chuck Adams
  • adamsc@whhassociates.com
  •  

Facilities Manager

  • John Hall
  •  
  •  

Office Administrator

  • Wendy Darby
  •  
  •  

Lifestyle Director

  • Lisa Kagan
  • lkagan@evergreen-lm.com
  •  

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public-records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.